Accessibility Resource

Category: Rehabilitation Act Section 504 and Section 508

Section 508 logo

Summary of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973

Section 508 is part of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 which applies to all Federal departments and agencies. A new version of Section 508 was signed into law in 1998 as an amendment of the Rehabilitation Act.  It requires Federal agencies to provide persons with disabilities, both employees and members of the public) to have comparable access to and use of electronic information. On January 18, 2017, the Access Board published a “refresh” of Section 508 and Section 255 Guidelines.

student in wheelchair with friend helping her with a book

Meeting the Standards: Your Guide to School Website Accessibility

Why worry about complying with the WCAG guidelines used by the Americans with Disabilities Act and Sections 504 and 508 of Rehabilitation Act which require electronic and information technology be ready-made for all people. On January 28, 2017, the US government refined and reinforced these laws, mandating that all institutions comply with WCAG